A Year of Rocking The ROW!

We’re drawing to the end of a marvelous inaugural year here at A Round of Words in 80 Days.  I started this challenge because I was tired of the one size fits all nature of all the other challenges out there and I wanted something where I could set my own goal and adjust it as life blew up in my face (as it often does) and the support of other writers to get me through the rough patches and encourage (or horsewhip) me into producivity.  Over each of the four rounds this year, our community has grown.  By now many nascent writing challenges have disappeared (oh 70 Days of Sweat, where are you? Evidently your domain has lapsed.).  ROW80 shows no signs of waning.  More and more writers join us with each round, retreating from universal goals and embracing the idea that goals are personal and that it’s better to tailor to suit your own life and celebrate those successes, than to strive for the unrealistic and wallow in failure.  Because being a writer is not about “winning” some arbitrary challenge.  It’s about fitting writing into your life each and every day throughout the year, project after project.  That’s what being a professional is all about.

So if you didn’t happen to quite make your goals, celebrate what progress you did make.  You’re ahead of those who never even started.  And maybe you’ve learned something about what constitutes a manageable goal for you.  Once we finish up Round 4, enjoy your holiday!  But be sure to come back here and join us on January 2nd for Round 1 of 2012!  It’s going to be a year of success!

And if you’ve got a hankering to be a sponsor, I’ve still got 4 slots left, we’re full up for Round 1, but I’m happy to put you on the list for Round 2.  Check out the FAQs above and dash me an email at kaitnolanwriter (at) gmail (dot) com.

15 comments

  1. We all thank you for doing this, Kait. It’s been a great year. I’ve published three novellas and a short story. I’ve done print versions of two of my novels. It’s been such a successful year, and it’s because of ROW80 that I’ve stuck to these things and gotten them done. ROW80 is the greatest writing challenge EVER.

  2. Congratulations! This idea of yours has turned into something wonderful. I love the point you make that even if you don’t make your goals you’re still ahead of where you were. I’ve got to keep that in mind as we head into 2012. See you in the next round. Thanks for doing this.

  3. I am so grateful for the support and knowledge I’ve gained from my two rounds of ROW80. Looking forward to Round 1 2012! Thanks, Kait, for keep it going and making it so valuable!

  4. ROW80 has been great. I know it was probably quite a difficult decision to make the challenge but it’s turned out to be just what everyone has needed. You should be proud! Kudos Kait. Kudos.

  5. I echo the thanks for your work on ROW80, Kait! I ended up bombdazzling (heh) a few of my goals along they way–just not hitting them–and from reading the progress posts of others and self-reflection, ROW has helped me get what didn’t work for me. And ROW lets me praise what did work. I know round one in January will be fantastic!🙂

Leave a Reply

