GOALS = Grow, Overcome, Accept, Learn, and Succeed by Tia Bach

A Round of Words in 80 Days has become a very important part of my writing life. I stumbled upon the challenge in the summer of 2011, and I haven’t missed a round since.

 

Writing is a process, and books don’t write themselves. It’s one thing to wake up and say, “I want to write a book.” It’s another to build the foundation to get there. At first, I found defining my goals for the round quite difficult. I loved the accountability of putting them out there, but I worried about the inevitability of life interfering. I didn’t want to fail.

 

Then I realized something. Goals are really about the ability to Grow, Overcome, Accept, Learn, and Succeed.

 

Grow

If it’s not working, change it. We should strive to grow our writing. Before ROW80, I never thought to interview my characters. Then I read a post where a fellow writer did that, and I tried it with great success.

 

People grow through experience if they meet life honestly and courageously. This is how character is built. Eleanor Roosevelt

 

Overcome

Writer’s block. Time issues. Technique questions.

 

Every writer in this group has faced writing dilemmas, and many of them have shared strategies for overcoming them. If you can’t find a post about your struggles, write a post asking for input.

 

When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us. Alexander Graham Bell

 

Accept

Life will rear its ugly head. If you have a bad writing day, accept it and move forward. Live to write another day. Or, take a large breath and salvage what’s left of the day.

 

Change the changeable, accept the unchangeable, and remove yourself from the unacceptable. Denis Waitley

 

Learn

Whether it’s studying your craft or discovering effective social media uses (or a multitude of other issues), there’s a wealth of knowledge in our ROW80 community. Never be afraid to ask.

 

I am learning all the time. The tombstone will be my diploma. Eartha Kitt

 

Succeed

The path to success is rarely without stumbles. Goals are plans, and we all know what they say about the best laid plans. But as we grow as writers and overcome our stumbling blocks, we will learn to accept what stops us and learn the best path to success.

 

Develop success from failures. Discouragement and failure are two of the surest stepping stones to success. Dale Carnegie

 ~*~

Tia Bach

2 comments

  1. True sentiments all, Tia. It’s a process as much as anything else, and yet few people realize that until they’ve stepped into the trenches.

  2. I could read this more than once for the very useful reminders that affirm the entire writing process — and the value of being an active ROW80 member. Thank you, Tia.

Leave a Reply

