New Thoughts For A New Year

Welcome to 2014!  We don’t actually begin Round 1 until the 6th (because I have this thing where I like to start things on Monday), but I wanted to wish all you ROWers, new and old, a very Happy New Year!

It’s going to be awesome.

Because I decree it, and in this little corner of the universe, what I say goes.

I’ll be working on my inaugural post of writing wisdom over the next few days, but I wanted to put a little bug in your ear to be thinking about as you formulate your goals for this round.

We live in what Brene Brown refers to as a “culture of scarcity”.  She talks about this in her book Daring Greatly, which I’m reading right now (great read and on sale!).  It’s this whole idea where our focus is always on the lack, from the moment we get out of bed in the morning.  “Oh, I didn’t get enough sleep.”  “I don’t have enough time.”  “I didn’t write enough words.”  This is a self perpetuating cycle of making us feel like we’re always behind and we suck.  And gee, this ties in with why I dislike NaNo and why I started this challenge in the first place.

I want you to CHANGE YOUR ATTITUDE.  Because we ARE WHAT WE TELL OURSELVES.

I want you to approach your writing from a position of GRATITUDE.

Be grateful for what words you get, grateful for those bursts of creativity, grateful for the community of writers we have here to support each other.  I know I am.

So focus on that when it comes to your goals and, most especially, with your check ins.

See you on Monday.

12 comments

  1. Oh, Kait, I like that. Tremendously. That so goes with the only resolution I have this year – be kind to myself. In doing that, everything else should fall into place.

  2. What a perfect way to sum up how I feel.

    In my day job, I focus on what I accomplish each day, rather than the reams of work still left to do. I prioritize, write lists, and work through them methodically. In my writing, I’ve learned to focus on the process, the little goals rather than the big dream. Now, after almost four years of hard work, I understand my style and what’s reasonable for me to accomplish.

    I didn’t participate in ROW80 in 2013 due to my husband’s illness. Psychologically I couldn’t put one more demand on my plate. I also backed away from social media to focus on the family’s needs. I missed all of you. Even though I accomplished my goals for the year, I felt isolated. Writing can be a lonely business, and I’m thrilled to be back in the loop with you all for 2014.

    See you all the sixth for our first check-in of gratitude!

    1. Sorry to hear that 2013 wasn’t a good year for you, Jolyse. Hopefully the “one more thing” will be supportive and replenishing instead of a hardship. Welcome back.

      1. Thanks so much, Eden. After a year without ROW80 I realized how much you all had inspired me. I felt good about cheering others on, too, and knowing that we’re all in this together. I’m determined to make this “one more thing” work in 2014.🙂

  3. THIS. Exactly what I needed to see on January 1st. Matter of fact, I’m bookmarking this to read at the beginning of each challenge. I leave, I come back, I leave, I come back… Your motivation is what leads me to repeat performance, Kait. Thanks for leading us toward our best selves. Happy New Year to you, and to all your followers! Can’t wait till Monday!🙂

  4. So so true, Kait! That feeling of always being behind froze me this fall. It is the busiest time for my day gig responsibilities and I had even more added from two people in my department leaving. I started looking at my writing projects as looming items I was off schedule on and told myself that I had to catch up on all of it instead of just picking up and going from where I was. So I faced the pile of what I missed as it grew and froze on where to begin until I never did.

  5. Oh, I enjoy these words quite a lot. I only just stumbled across this today but I am so happy that I did, as I think this is exactly what I need. I look forward to starting the challenge and delving into some work and just being happy that I am acquiring words.

Leave a Reply

