Try Something New by Stephanie Nickel

Twenty-fourteen has definitely brought some brand new challenges my way. The book I co-authored is now available. We’ve had our first book launch and the second is set for the last weekend of April. I also decided to pack up my gear and head for Camp NaNoWriMo. It’s the first time I’ve ever attempted anything like this . . . and the first time I’ve hit the 10,000 word mark in my novel. (It needs a lot of work, but hey, I won’t have anything to work with if I don’t finish my first draft.)

It’s great to edit for several different clients. The work is always new. It’s pretty hard to get bored. This is a built-in way for me to always be working with something fresh—even if I’m doing the same thing.

One of my goals is to get my children’s picture books into the hands of agents and publishers. Because I’m writing for the preschool crowd, each manuscript has a limited number of words. Of course, that doesn’t mean they’re easy to fire off, but I should be able to get several written while working on my novel. Perseverance needs to be my theme in this area—and in others.

I’ve gotten away from writing poems. I think I will get back to it. If I write one poem, one book review, and repost the fitness blog I write for Kimberley Payne, I will hit my goal for posts for Steph Nickel’s Eclectic Interests each week.

And sadly, one thing I need to do that is “new” is get back to reading. It’s so easy to veg in front of the TV instead of picking up one of the many books that are calling my name.

If you’re looking for something new to try this round, why not choose from the following list?

1. Choose an age group you don’t normally write for and write a short story or article directed at them.

2. If poetry’s not your thing, look up different poetic forms and dive in.

3. Pop over to YouTube and choose a musical style you wouldn’t normally listen to. Use it as a springboard for a freewriting session. Who knows? You might stumble upon inspiration for a new piece—maybe even a new book.

4. And speaking of songs . . . Choose a familiar tune and write new words just for fun. (If you want to share it, keep in mind copyright restrictions.)

5. Choose a movie or an episode of a TV show and write a new ending.

6. If you’re looking to guest post, feel free to get in touch (stephbethnickel@gmail.com). I’m always looking for guest bloggers.

So, how about you? Are you shooting for something new this round? If so, what are you working on?

~*~

Stephanie Nickel

2 comments

  1. Discovering new things, exploring and experiencing the wealth of the world holds for us is always inspiring. We just have to be open to the process of making use of the knowledge we receive along the way. Nice list for stating one’s creative journey, Stephanie.

Leave a Reply

