Music, Chocolate, and ROW80 by Tia Bach

Well we had a couple of snafus this round that led to my somehow missing a couple of sponsor posts.  Tia Bach has been kind enough to step in to pinch hit for some inspiration for y’all this week!  Thank you, Tia!

~*~

Inspiration comes in many different forms. Some writers swear productivity and music go hand in hand, and many create playlists for their books. If I turn on music, I have to sing or dance. These activities distract me from writing, but they sure are fun.

Others swear by the reward system. For example, they will eat a decadent chocolate dessert when they write 5,000 words. Willpower is not my strong suit. Even thinking about the dessert will hold my thoughts hostage, and I can’t write with a chocolate-obsessed brain.

However, I am happy to say one thing has consistently inspired me since mid-2011: A Round of Words in 80 Days. I’m so grateful to Kait Nolan for building this community!

I love ROW80 on so many levels. First, I enjoy reading what inspires people to write. Too often, I get caught up in my own excuses. Often my updates become sad, but well-thought-out, tributes to why I didn’t reach my word goal. With ROW80, I’m never more than two posts away from a great, re-energizing idea. It’s like an adrenaline shot.

Second, I need community. My ROW80 friends are always around. They don’t abandon me if I forget to post for a few days. Someone is always there to get me over the hump, whether it’s through an encouraging pep talk or a swift kick in the butt.

Third, there’s a #ROW80 group who come together on Twitter (2pm EST) to word sprint. Love, love, love this group. They’ve helped me survive two NaNos. Plus, without them, I’m not sure my last two books would exist.

Finally, ROW80 forces me to reevaluate my goals and methods every quarter. Changing it up helps me stay focused. Then, every Sunday and Wednesday, I must face my choices and determine how they are working.

Most importantly, my fear of failure has greatly diminished. Now, thanks to ROW80 support and ideas, I understand how success works: “Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.” (Winston Churchill) Without the amazing people in this community, I would still be shivering in the dark writer’s closet. For that, I will forever be grateful.

I hope each and every one of you finds your inspiration. Until you do, know we are all here rooting for you!

~*~

Tia Bach

4 comments

  1. My biggest inspiration has been just being able to list numbers of words that I wrote. THe ROW posts are good for that too.
    This has been my first round and I really have enjoyed it a lot. Looking forward to being a part of it next round too. I didn’t realize there was a group on Twitter doing word prints. Shame it falls right at dinner time for me, but still that is really cool.

  2. I couldn’t agree more, Tia. The ROW80 community is a wonderful, supportive group, and I’m grateful to be a part of it.

    Like you, I can’t write to a backdrop of music. I get too distracted. But music has inspired my work on more than one occasion.🙂

    1. Wonderful point, Denise! I love music, and it’s definitely in my head during scenes. I just can’t avoid dancing–not that I do it well–when it’s blaring in my house. I’m a goober that way. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

