Easier Said Than Done by Tia Bach

There are so many ways to motivate yourself to write. Heck, I think I’ve written about several of them in my many terms as a ROW80 sponsor.

But I’m here to admit something… I suck at inspiration most of the time. What works one day, doesn’t work another. It’s like parenting. You do some magical thing and the kid listens. Then, the very next day, they are savvy to your tricks and look you dead in the eye and do whatever the heck they want to do.

Inspiration and motivation are easier to talk about than to put into action. There is no magic pill, potion, contraption, carrot, or method that will ensure you get your butt in the chair to write.

What we have to rely on is our passion for writing plus a good kick in the pants from the friends who understand said passion. For now, I encourage you to do what’s necessary to produce results—promise yourself a treat for every 5,000 words, turn off the Internet for a set amount of time, go to Starbucks and don’t go home until you hit your goal. Whatever it takes.

If you need a new spark of motivation, visit all the amazing ROW80 blogs and see what’s working for people. Then try it. For the last two years, I’ve written a book during NaNo. Why can I write during November and struggle the rest of the year?

Honest to God, I don’t know! It makes me crazy. I dabble from March to October and then BOOM—write a book in November, shelve it for December, edit it like crazy January through March, and publish it in April/May.

I WILL break the spell this year. How?

I don’t know yet, but I will. Knowing all of you will be rooting for me will be one huge push to get me there. One thing I can tell you… if you love to write, you will find a way. Plus, you’ve taken a great first step by joining ROW80 and surrounding yourself with others who get it.

May this round grace you with motivation, inspiration, and WORDS via whatever path you choose (or paths, as the case may be).

~*~

Tia Bach

2 comments

  1. Just what I needed to hear! I returned from RWA Nat’l Conference with a personal commitment to get that butt-in-chair, hands-on-keyboard for a certain length of time each day…and not let myself do anything else until I do.

    Inspiration is great, but accountability gets me going too. Thanks, Tia!

  2. Glad this post helped you, Julie. When I sat down to write it, I needed to be honest and say what I was thinking. At the time, I was struggling. Funny, since I wrote it, I completed a 20K short story. Looking forward to hearing more about your RWA experience.

Leave a Reply

