Inspiration Is A Fickle Friend by Molley Mills

Being inspirational is difficult when you’re not inspired. This winter has left me entirely uninspired, with a capital I. It’s cold and we’re buried in snow. We’ve also had our turns of being cut down by the dreaded lurgy and shared our germs with each other with gay abandon! You’d be amazed how many rounds a cold can go when you’re living in close quarters and the outside temps are something straight out of the arctic.

Life throws curve balls like that and as writers we can use those experiences to flavour our words. Having ideas is a minute by minute thing for me and part of the writing process, so it counts, right? Those ideas are waiting to be developed and put onto paper or keyboard, which ever is the prefered method. But I never stick to my goals, life gets in the way. I’m terrible at it. I make plans and list and flow charts…and then nothing. It’s just the way it is, especially this month, since I played single parent while my husband was away on his much needed reconnection trip to the homeland.

I try to set time aside but there’s always a distraction, I guess learning to work through those is something I need to try harder to control. Accepting your flaws and working with them can help though. I often think of those pie charts about writers, who have all the time to develop their writing and yet, the night before deadline, they’re burning the midnight oil to finish, and surprisingly the product is good. Is it inspiration or sheer panic that motives them? Probably both. I’ve been guilty of that since the second year of middle school. I’ve always been the night before Queen. But when it comes, if you can just let it flow, then magic happens… or drivel, that happens too.

Be kind to yourselves in this writing process. Expect to ebb and flow with ideas and inspiration and writers block and crappy product. In amongst it all there is mastery, and that’s why we continue because we know somewhere deep down we have things to say, unique things and interesting ways of seeing the world. And someone is waiting to connect with that, use our words as an inspiration to their daily struggle.

Isn’t that why we write?

Yeah it is….

~*~

Molley Mills

3 comments

Leave a Reply

