Why I Love Camping by Steph Beth Nickel

There’s the sleeping outside no matter what the weather … No, that’s not it.

There are the l-o-n-g walks to the bathroom … Nope, not that either.

There’s the wide variety of wildlife you may run into on your way to said bathroom, especially at night … Hey, I like wildlife, but not creatures like raccoons, skunks, and bears who may not take kindly to being surprised.

How about the coin-operated showers with boxes just a little too far to reach when you’re soaking wet and need to add another quarter because the shampoo is still in your hair? Not so much.

Wait! Maybe I should have given this piece the title “Why I Don’t  Love Camping.”

But there is a type of camp that provides almost all the fun and none of the inconveniences of actual, real-life camping, the kind without soggy tents, distant bathrooms, skunks, bears, and soapy hair.

In case you haven’t guessed, I’m talking about Camp NaNoWriMo.

Unlike the original NaNoWriMo, camp takes place twice a year: once in April, when nobody (or only the extremely hearty) wants to go camping in my neck of the woods (pun intended) and July (for those of us who aren’t out doing “the real thing”).

Instead of committing to writing 50,000 or more words in a single month, Camp NaNo allows you to choose a goal as low as 10,000 words, much more doable. Another perk: As I understand it, the powers that be at NaNoWriMo expect you to write 50K words in the same project. With my eclectic sensibilities, writing a total of 10-15K on a variety of projects works way better for me.

Like out-in-nature camping, you can choose to be in a cabin, either with a group of friends or random strangers. Thus another advantage over the OIN variety. Actually sharing a cabin with total strangers could very well prove to be a bad idea—dangerous even. (Plot idea!)

And with a cabin full of fellow writers, they’re gonna notice if you’re not writing—as long as you don’t fudge your daily word count tally. This accountability and the arrow that moves closer and closer to the middle of the target are great motivators.

The stats page shows not only the individual’s progress but also the progress of the cabin. Are you and your fellow campers on track to “win” the challenge? I like working toward common goals and attending Camp NaNo is another way I can do that.

The wind can howl. The snow can fall, which it did a short time ago. The critters can roam freely about. No problem from my perspective.

I’m in the midst of Camp NaNo and having a blast. No bears. No skunks. No raccoons. (Though there is the frequent chirp of crickets, but those are for my daughter’s bearded dragon.) And one more thing: my bathroom is right downstairs.

Why not consider joining me in July. Hope to see you then. Maybe we can share a cabin. (It’ll be safe. I promise.)

Find out more at campnanowrimo.org

~*~

Steph Beth Nickel

 

One comment

  1. I hate real camping. I went Girl Scout camp as a girls and as an adult with my girls. I hated it. I love Camp NaNoWriMo. It also gives me the excuse to make ‘smores!

Leave a Reply

