Round 3 Sunday Check-in 7

Selamat Siang Temanku!  Apa Kabar?

Hi!  Friday, while waiting for my son to finish his time in adventure camp at Bosquet Mt., I decided to try Enso, a local “Asian Bistro” for lunch and to satisfy a bit of a tamago sushi craving (tamago is the sweet egg omelette that is sometimes used in mixed rolls like Futo Maki or sliced into strips and served on its own—very yummy).  I had a very yummy meal, but even more enjoyable was meeting Andy, my waiter.  He comes from Indonesian (I confess, I didn’t get the name of which island down well enough to feel comfortable writing it.

But I did learn a few basic Bahasa Indonesian phrases, including those above which mean “Hello, my friend(s)! How are you?”*

Why do I mention this?  Because chance encounters like these are the backbones of our stories (and for a richer life, imho) one can find.  From Andy’s polite question about whether I was working (sort of, I was taking notes on my phone about James Agee’s book Let Us Praise Famous Men) developed a wonderful discussion about our families (his wife has recently returned to Indonesia because she doesn’t like it in the US, which, when he mentioned this, of course became fodder for a much longer conversation).  Little windows into perspective…

I hope, the next time you head out for lunch, or are stuck waiting for a time, you are blessed as I was.  Good food and good conversation with a stranger.

If you’ve had such an experience, or if you just want to share how your writing has gone, tell us all at the linky:

  • An interesting fact about Indonesian is that it doesn’t seem to have a plural version for most words.  You either double a word or just use it alone and let context take over.   As in the initial phrase, it could also be said as Selamat datang teman-teman saya which would be closer to “Welcome, my friends”. 

 

2 comments

    1. You’ve worked in the service industry… you know how many stories are out there, hovering between acknowledged and ignored simply by a chance, either taken or available… It’s such a rich world and so often it gets ignored.

      If we head out for a cafe day, maybe we’ll do Enso for supper? 😉

Leave a Reply

