Productive Procrastination by Stacey Wallace Benefiel

I am an excellent procrastinator.  You probably are too.  And wouldn’t we get so much writing done if we weren’t?  Eh, I don’t think so.

I’m not a plotter, so I need to think about what’s going to happen next in my stories a lot.  Procrastination helps me.

I chat with friends on Facebook and Twitter, I feel happier and I’m working on perfecting realistic dialogue!  I read “just one more chapter” in the novel I’m currently engrossed in and usually by seeing how someone else got their characters from A to B, I can figure out how to get mine there too. Same goes for watching TV. In my case, I watch Supernatural and Vampire Diaries.  Sam and Dean have gotten me out of many a plot pickle, let me tell you!   I go to the grocery store almost every day.  It’s one of my favorite procrastination places (you gotta eat!) because I find the musak and strolling up and down the aisles relaxes me.  I can zone out and think at the grocery store.

I am also an advocate of the following procrastination aids: Playing Scrabble on the computer, folding laundry, washing dishes, watching your kids watch cartoons, making a killer sandwich, taking the dog for a walk, driving and crying, bathing, and Pilates.

There are two that I don’t recommend: Reading your reviews on Goodreads and monitoring your sales rank on Amazon hourly.  Completely useless ways of wasting time.

When do I actually write?  Oh, I get to it, and when I do I can usually bust out a couple thousand words in a sitting because I’ve had time to work things out in my head.

How does this method of procrastination/head plotting work during a writing challenge?  Well, we’re writing for some period of time every day, which isn’t usual for me either, so it’s all a big experiment.

What I’m expecting to happen during ROW80 is to see a marked decrease in procrastination and an increase in word count.  I’m a little bit scared by this.

I’m training myself to go about the process of writing differently. We all are.  No matter what your writing style is-whether you plot, procrastinate, write 12,000 words a weekend and nothing during the week, we are all taking on the commitment to write something every day for three months.

Let’s keep that in mind and give ourselves some credit for making the commitment. Now.

~*~

Stacey Wallace Benefiel

3 thoughts on “Productive Procrastination by Stacey Wallace Benefiel

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.