Sorry, But No

I want to apologize, but… in a way, I also don’t. I’ve asked repeated for help hosting this challenge, but beyond one offer that was never followed through back at the beginning of Round 2, it’s been crickets.

That’s actually OKAY! We all have busy lives, and it means that you all are doing the things you most need to do.

However, it means I haven’t been doing the things I need to to for myself. And that isn’t okay. I joined the ROW80 (and I became involved in the ROW80 as well) because I wanted to be a part of an active community that supported each other on writing-related projects and goals. And… instead, the ROW80 became my writing-related project and goal. I’ve barely had the creative energy to do anything but (except for my in-person writing events, where there is mutual support and discussion. And… sadly, the few times I’ve had that energy… it’s been pretty much sucked up by having to announce it (for goals and accountability!!!).

So, I am done. If anyone wants to take up the reins and try steering this thing, there are a number of people you can contact, including me. But my suggestion… try something else. Trust yourself. You can get those stories done. Many of you have been. And if you need a community, there are a multitude of online groups. And many not-so online groups (such as my local writing community the South Jersey Writers Group, which works on a hybrid format for people both in and outside the area). I found them through Meetup (well, actually I’d seen a flyer for them once before I found them on Meetup, but I lost the info).

If you need to be online… I definitely recommend the Insecure Writers Support Group. Once a month connection with lots of creative time in between…. how could that be bad?

There are, as you can imagine, a lot of options.

And so… though I must apologize to the people who were interested in signing up for Round 4, I am saying “No.” We had a good run. I met some wonderful people through the ROW80, but I can’t run it for nostalgia’s or, even, hope’s sake. I have stories I want to write of my own, and it’s time I started doing that.

~*~

Eden Mabee

9 thoughts on “Sorry, But No

  1. I am glad you are doing what you need to do. Thank you so much for trying to keep ROW80 afloat. But I agree, it may be time for other things. It was a wonderful place for a long time, and I also met many great people here. But I’m doing other things right now (grad school for one!), and I don’t have the focus to do the goals, etc. here. But again, thank you for keeping it going. And thank you for being one of the awesome people I met!

    1. Likewise! I sometimes stalk your FB profile, Kim , just because you’re doing so many awesome things. (Well, not really stalk, but I try to drop in on friends that the FB algorithm doesn’t feed me at least once every couple of weeks or so..)

  2. Totally understandable. And you have to take care of yourself and your own writing first and foremost. This is why I stepped back too, because I simply could not do my own stuff, run my business, deal with my chronic illness, and support everyone here the way they should be supported (since they supported me in so many wonderful ways). I’m sad to see ROW80 go, but maybe it’s time. We did have a great run, and I’ve met some wonderful people here who continue to be wonderful friends. I wish you the best of luck in all your future endeavors. 🙂 Thanks for all your hard work.

  3. Thanks for everything Erin. Yes you must prioritise your own writing and health. I didn’t realise things had moved and went to the FB group as I have only just got the energy back to blog today and it had been taken over by people posting shoes etc. Having reported about 20 of them for spam I’ve given up and then found the post saying to come here. Thanks for the recommendation for the other group.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.