Don’t Let That Life Thing Get You Down

I began this challenge a year and a half ago because I was sick and tired of participating in unrealistic challenges that didn’t fit into my crazy life.  I’ve worked hard and done my best to be a role model for all you struggling writers out there who are in the same boat as me.  And this round has been the one where I’ve truly had to practice what I preach about ROW80 being the writing challenge that knows you have a life.  Because lord knows, mine has just flat blown up with the crazy.

Round 2 started April 2nd, right after my eldest dog Daisy had a spinal stroke.  Two weeks after that, we sold our house after more than a year on the market.  Five weeks after that, I attended the Dallas-Fort Worth Writer’s Conference, and right when I got home from that we moved.  I’ve spent the last three weeks unpacking and getting settled in.  And in between all of it, I’ve been shuttling Daisy to physical therapy twice a week.  She’s walking again, thank God, and is well on the way to a full recovery.  And to all of you who’ve kept up with her progress and cheerleaded her on, THANK YOU.

Anyway, all of this is to say that life got nuts and the writing suffered.  But I didn’t give up.  Whenever I could, I tried to write something.  Even if it wasn’t good.  Even if it wasn’t much.  I kept getting knocked on my butt and climbing back on that proverbial horse.  I changed my goals.  And though I didn’t accomplish as much as I might have if all that stuff hadn’t happened, I accomplished something.  I kept moving forward and making progress.  And that is truly what this challenge is meant to teach.  That all progress is better than giving up, and as long as you keep on trying, you are outlapping everybody who isn’t even in the race.

I hope you had a marvelous Round and that you’ll meet us back here on July 2nd for the start of Round 3!

15 comments

  1. Sorry you had a rough round Kait but you are still an inspiration to us all. I nearly gave up myself this round but I didn’t want to let anyone down, least of all myself, so after three weeks away I jumped back in at the last moment because, as you say, any progress is good.

  2. This challenge has meant a lot to many writers. We love and appreciate you for what you’ve done for all of us. Thanks so much for your willingness to help others even when you’re so busy.🙂

  3. Absolutely, Captain Kait! I concur that this round has provided all of us a lot of insight. That said, if I had not been participating in the second round of ROW 80, it is not an exaggeration to say that I probably would have stopped blogging, as ROW 80 was the impetus for me to blog, initially. I took a three-week hiatus during this round, and I took it comfortably because of ROW 80’s philosophy.

    As for my writing, ROW 80 helped in a way that I still find surprising. While on my hiatus from blogging, I found my way to writing daily, and in so doing, I discovered why I have a blog, and that my blog now reflects my writing. I may have come to the same conclusions without ROW 80 but I can say that I came to them sooner than later because of ROW 80.

    Thanks to all my fellow ROWers.
    Karen

  4. As far as I’m concerned, the best thing you accomplished was coming to DFWCon and sharing your wisdom and friendship with us! Of course, I want you to write, write, write, but I have been the beneficiary of your knowledge and positive attitude. I hope Round 3 treats you wonderfully. You continue to inspire the rest of us ROWers to get it in gear and make progress. Thanks, Kait!

    And I’m glad Daisy is doing much better.

  5. This was my first ROW80 and I have to say that while I found the writing part easy, the regular blog check-ins were most useful. Without them my blog wouldn’t have been updated anywhere near as often!
    When life gets in the way of writing fiction, I keep a diary. It maintains the writing practice of getting words down on paper/screen, and when you’re going through an obstructive life event keeping notes of what’s going on can be very useful, especially when medication or something as complex as moving house is involved.
    Hope your life settles down now – and thanks for inventing ROW80! See you for the next round in July.

  6. I still think you’re a rockstar! And if you didn’t have months where everything catapulted into one giant meltdown, then you wouldn’t be real. You are a supportive champion for us struggling writers because you acknowledge there’ll be times we have to adjust our goals, but it’s all about proving we can still move forward and that every little bit counts!

    Hang in there! We’ll take some subconscious road trips again soon! 😉 Thanks for all the sprints you helped me through!

  7. While I don’t always find the personal responsibility of the ROW80 as fun as I would like, I’ve found it and everything the ROW80 embodies to be what I needed.

    The ROW80 has helped me grow up as a writer and oddly enough as a mom and a wife, and in so many other ways. It made me recognize that who I am is not just a writer or a mother or a… But that the human being that I am is all these things and more, and that it–that I–deserve to be them all without sacrificing one or the other. And that “all or nothing” thinking is more destructive than any amount of negativity.

    Progress is progress, writing is writing… There will be good days and there will be bad days, but in the end, we choose to make the best of the days we have.

    Thank you for starting the ROW80, Kait. And many hugs for the happy #Daisywatch news.

Leave a Reply

