2 comments

  1. I have gotten a lot out of James Scott Bell’s book, Plot & Structure. I have four books on the craft of writing on my desk and that’s one of them. I also have gotten a lot out of David Trottier’s The Screenwriter’s Bible. I use his six key turning points for plotting my own stories. It makes a lot of sense to me because I tend to look at the way television shows are constructed and try to mirror that in my writing. The last idea I have is a weird one and not geared toward fiction writers (or non-fiction writers for that matter), but reading it while I was in grad school changed my whole outlook on how to make time for my own writing It’s called How to Write a Lot by Paul Silvia. The first three chapters are the one to focus on. If you can get past the fact that it’s written more for academics (particularly academics in the psychology discipline) his advice on how to make time to write, how to ruthlessly protect your writing time, are invaluable. I wouldn’t write nearly as much as I do if I hadn’t read that book. Hope this helps.

    1. Ohh! These look awesome. Thanks for taking the time to list them. Especially that last one, as “making time” sometimes is the hardest part of being a writer.

Leave a Reply

